Action alert: Help us urge EU to win one for the climate!

Next week, members of the European Parliament’s ENVI Committee will be voting on possible changes to the EU’s F-Gas Regulation.

The clock is ticking and time is short – we need your help to urge them to secure a big win for the climate by voting on June 19 to ban hydrofluorocarbons (HFCs) in new equipment and products by 2020.

The F-Gas Regulation governs the use of climate-changing fluorinated gases, including HFCs – super greenhouse gases many hundreds or thousands of times more powerful than carbon dioxide which are used in refrigeration, air conditioning, aerosols, foams, solvents and fire protection.

More than 250 Europe-based companies already produce climate-friendly alternatives using natural refrigerants and it is only the well-funded, disproportionate influence of the HFC chemical industry which is seeking to keep their profitable status quo.

We don’t want big industry to have it all their own way – help us to convince the members of the ENVI Committee to make a change a really matters.

Here’s what you can do …

1. Share our campaign film

EIA has produced this brief campaign film to raise awareness of the harmful effects of F-gases and the importance of getting rid of them.

Please use the Share and Embed codes in the upper right corner of the film to pass it around among your family, friends and contacts, and to embed it any online forums and communities you frequent, such as Facebook and Google+.

The more people who contact ENVI Committee members before June 19, the more they are likely to do the right thing!

2. Email ENVI Committee members

Below is the list of the individual members of the ENVI Committee and their contact emails.

Please take a moment to email as many of them as you can to urge them to vote for a ban on the use of HFCs in new equipment and products by 2020.

You may wish to compose your own message or use/adapt this one:

 

To (COMMITTEE MEMBER’S NAME HERE)

I am contacting you with regard to the meeting of the ENVI Committee due to take place on Wednesday, June 19 to discuss possible changes to the European Union’s F-Gas Regulation.

I would urge you most strongly to further the tradition of Europe’s progressive climate policies and to counter global warming by voting for a ban on the use of hydrofluorocarbons (HFCs) in new equipment and products by 2020.

As I am sure you are aware, HFCs are super greenhouse gases many hundreds or thousands of times more powerful than carbon dioxide; they are used in refrigeration, air conditioning, aerosols, foams, solvents and fire protection.

A vote to ban HFCs in new equipment from 2020 would constitute a major win for the climate, set a standard for other countries to follow and also offer a significant boost to the 250-plus European companies which already produce climate-friendly alternatives using natural refrigerants.

Yours sincerely

(YOUR NAME HERE)

 

ENVI Committee members

Austria

* Ms Karin Kadenbach karin.kadenbach@europarl.europa.eu
* Richard Seeber richard.seeber@europarl.europa.eu

Belgium

* Ms Anne Delvaux anne.delvaux@europarl.europa.eu
* Frederique Ries frederique.ries@europarl.europa.eu

Bulgaria

* Vladko Todorov Panayotov vladkotodorov.panayotov@europarl.europa.eu
* Antonyia Parvanova antonyia.parvanova@europarl.europa.eu

Czech Republic

* Ms Mila Cabrnoch milan.cabrnoch@europarl.europa.eu
* Mioslav Ouzky miroslav.ouzky@europarl.europa.eu
*  Pavel Poc pavel.poc@europarl.europa.eu

Denmark

* Dan Jorgensen dan.jorgensen@europarl.europa.eu
* Ms Anna Rosbach anna.rosbach@europarl.europa.eu

Finland

* Satu Hassi satu.hassi@europarl.europa.eu
* Eija-Riitta Korhola eija-riitta.korhola@europarl.europa.eu

France

* Ms Sophie Auconie sophie.auconie@europarl.europa.eu
* Ms Sandrine Belier sandrine.belier@europarl.europa.eu
* Ms Francoise Grossetete francoise.grossetete@europarl.europa.eu
* Ms Corinne Lepage corinne.lepage@europarl.europa.eu
* Gilles Pargneaux gilles.pargneaux@europarl.europa.eu

Germany

* Karl-Heinz Florenz karl-heinz.florenz@europarl.europa.eu
* Matthias Groote matthias.groote@europarl.europa.eu
* Ms Christa Klass christa.klass@europarl.europa.eu
* Holger Krahmer holger.krahmer@europarl.europa.eu
* Jo Leinen jo.leinen@europarl.europa.eu
* Peter Liese peter.liese@europarl.europa.eu
* Ms Dagmar Roth-Behrendt dagmar.roth-behrendt@europarl.europa.eu
* Horst Schnellhardt horst.schnellhardt@europarl.europa.eu
* Thomas Ulmer thomas.ulmer@europarl.europa.eu
* Ms Anja Weisgerber anja.weisgerber@europarl.europa.eu
* Ms Sabine Wils sabine.wils@europarl.europa.eu

Greece

* Kriton Arsenis kriton.arsenis@europarl.europa.eu
* Theodoros Skylakakis theodoros.skylakakis@europarl.europa.eu
* Ms Marina Yannakoudakis marina.yannakoudakis@europarl.europa.eu

Hungary

* Lajos Bokros lajos.bokros@europarl.europa.eu
* Nessa Childers nessa.childers@europarl.europa.eu
* Erik Banki erik.banki@europarl.europa.eu

Italy

* Paolo Bartolozzi paolo.bartolozzi@europarl.europa.eu
* Sergio Berlato sergio.berlato@europarl.europa.eu
* Franco Bonanini franco.bonanini@europarl.europa.eu
* Yves Cochet yves.cochet@europarl.europa.eu
* Ms Elisabetta Gardini elisabetta.gardini@europarl.europa.eu
* Mario Pirillo mario.pirillo@europarl.europa.eu
* Oreste Rossi oreste.rossi@europarl.europa.eu
* Savatore Tatarella salvatore.tatarella@europarl.europa.eu

Latvia

* Kārlis Sadurskis karlis.sadurskis@europarl.europa.eu

Lithuania

* Radvilé Morkunaite radvile.morkunaite@europarl.europa.eu

Netherlands

* Ms Esther de Lange esther.delange@europarl.europa.eu
* Gerben-Jan Gerbrandy gerben-jan.gerbrandy@europarl.europa.eu
* Ms Kartika Tamara Liotard kartikatamara.liotard@europarl.europa.eu

Poland

* Tadeusz Cymanski tadeusz.cymanski@europarl.europa.eu
* Ms Jolanta Emilia Hibner jolantaemilia.hibner@europarl.europa.eu
* Bogusław Sonik boguslaw.sonik@europarl.europa.eu

Portugal

* Ms Edite Estrela edite.estrela@europarl.europa.eu

Romania

* Ms Elena Oana Antonescu elenaoana.antonescu@europarl.europa.eu
* Ms Daciana Octavia Sarbu dacianaoctavia.sarbu@europarl.europa.eu
* Claudiu Ciprian Tanasescu claudiuciprian.tanasescu@europarl.europa.eu

Slovakia

* Ms Anna Zaborska anna.zaborska@europarl.europa.eu
* Zofija Mazej Kukovic zofija.mazejkukovic@europarl.europa.eu

Spain

* Pilar Ayuso pilar.ayuso@europarl.europa.eu
* Ms Cristina Gutierrez-Cortines cristina.gutierrez-cortines@europarl.europa.eu
* Andres Perello Rodriguez andres.perellorodriguez@europarl.europa.eu

Sweden

* Carl Schlyter carl.schlyter@europarl.europa.eu
* Åsa Westlund asa.westlund@europarl.europa.eu

United Kingdom

* Martina Anderson martina.anderson@europarl.europa.eu
* Martin Callanan martin.callanan@europarl.europa.eu
* Chris Davies chris.davies@europarl.europa.eu
* Ms Jill Evans jill.evans@europarl.europa.eu
* Ms Linda McAvan linda.mcavan@europarl.europa.eu
* Paul Nuttall paul.nuttall@europarl.europa.eu
* Ms Glenis Willmott glenis.willmott@europarl.europa.eu

 

Please circulate this page to everybody you know and encourage them to help – the more people who contact the committee’s members, the more they are likely to respond in a positive and responsible way.

Thank-you for your help and action!