Captive tigers behind fence, China

MPs and Peers call on UK Government for action to end tiger trade

On 2 April, our Wildlife campaigners and Indian author and conservationist Prerna Bindra raised the alarm over trade in tigers and other big cats an event hosted by the All Party Parliamentary China Group in the UK Parliament.

Following discussions on the serious threats posed by the big cat trade and policies in China which serve to perpetuate it, 71 MPs and Peers have now called on the UK Government to support strong action to save big cats.

Fewer than 4,000 wild tigers survive and Asia’s leopards, clouded leopards and snow leopards are all in decline; a major cause is illegal killing and trade to meet demand for their parts and products, primarily from Chinese consumers.

‘Bone strengthening’ wine for sale in China (c) EIAimage

India, home to more than half of the world’s remaining wild tigers, has put forward a proposal to next month’s 18th Conference of the Parties (CoP18) of the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES) comprising a suite of urgently needed actions to tackle the trade in Asian big cat parts and products driving the species towards extinction.

In letters led by Richard Graham MP and Rebecca Pow MP, Chair and Environment Vice-Chair respectively of the All Party Parliamentary China Group, to Michael Gove, Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs, and Jeremy Hunt, Secretary of State for the Foreign and Commonwealth Office, a cross-party group of 71 MPs and peers have called on the UK Government to support India’s proposal and encourage other countries to follow suit.

Among the concerns expressed in the letter are the fact that China continues to allow sales of parts and products of tigers and leopards, sending a message to consumers that these products are acceptable, and the proliferation of tiger farms which contribute to illegal trade in tiger parts. India’s proposal presents specific recommendations to tackle these key issues.

In their letter, MPs and peers note that China has shown leadership in banning its ivory trade and now has an opportunity to show leadership on banning trade in tiger and other big cat parts.

Debbie Banks, our Tiger and Wildlife Crime Campaign Leader, said: “It would be a tragedy if we lost the fight to save wild tigers. They urgently need leaders to champion their cause at the highest political levels to bring about real change, including an end to tiger farming.”


The following MPs and Peers have signed the letter:
Richard Graham MP, Chair, All Party Parliamentary China Group

Rebecca Pow MP, Environment Vice-Chair, All Party Parliamentary China Group

Darren Jones MP, Labour, Bristol North West

Lord Steel of Aikwood

Rosie Cooper MP, Labour, West Lancashire

Kerry McCarthy MP, Labour, Bristol East

Christine Jardine MP, Liberal Democrat, Edinburgh West

Lord Truscott, Independent Labour

Lord Marlesford, Conservative

Baroness D’Souza, Crossbench

John Mann MP, Labour, Bassetlaw

Mr Jonathan Lord MP, Conservative, Woking

Sarah Champion MP, Labour, Rotherham

Lord Rowe-Beddoe, Crossbench

Andrew Rosindell MP, Conservative, Romford

Robert Courts MP, Conservative, Witney

Andrea Jenkyns MP, Conservative, Morley and Outwood

Lord Stoddart, Independent Labour

Jeremy Lefroy MP, Conservative, Stafford

Rt Hon Philip Dunne MP, Conservative, Ludlow

Dr David Drew MP, Labour, Stroud

Daniel Zeichner MP, Labour, Cambridge

Rt Hon Sir Mike Penning MP, Conservative, Hemel Hempstead

Dr Matthew Offord MP, Conservative, Hendon

Antoinette Sandbach MP, Conservative, Eddisbury

Rt Hon Richard Benyon MP, Conservative, Newbury

David Warburton MP, Conservative, Somerton and Frome

Zac Goldsmith MP, Conservative, Richmond Park

Vicky Ford MP, Conservative, Chelmsford

Mr Simon Clarke MP, Conservative, Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland

Rt Hon Sir Roger Gale MP, Conservative, North Thanet

Sarah Newton MP, Conservative, Truro and Falmouth

Sir David Crausby MP, Labour, Bolton North East

Mr Ranil Jayawardena MP, Conservative, North East Hampshire

Victoria Prentis MP, Conservative, Banbury

Kate Green MP, Labour, Streford and Urmston

Ross Thomson MP, Conservative, Aberdeen South

Jim Fitzpatrick MP, Labour, Poplar and Limehouse

Bill Wiggin MP, Conservative, North Herefordshire

Rt Hon David Jones MP, Conservative, Clwyd West

Henry Smith MP, Conservative, Crawley

Rt Hon Nigel Dodds MP, DUP, Belfast North

Catherine West MP, Labour, Hornsey and Wood Green

Rt Hon Ann Clwyd MP, Labour, Cynon Valley

Ms Karen Buck MP, Labour, Westminster North

Alex Sobel MP, Labour Co-op, Leeds North West

Rt Hon Robert Halfon MP, Conservative, Harlow

John Howell MP, Conservative, Henley

Rt Hon Priti Patel MP, Conservative, Witham

Rt Hon John Spellar MP, Labour, Warley

Rt Hon Dame Caroline Spelman MP, Conservative, Meriden

Rt Hon Theresa Villiers MP, Conservative, Chipping Barnet

Mrs Emma Lewell-Buck MP, Labour, South Shields

Tonia Antoniazzi MP, Labour, Gower

Dr Rupa Huq MP, Labour, Ealing Central and Acton

Bob Blackman MP, Conservative, Harrow East

Ruth George MP, Labour, High Peak

Rt Hon Tom Brake MP, Liberal Democrat, Carshalton and Wallington

Rt Hon David Hanson MP, Labour, Delyn

Dr Sarah Wollaston MP, Independent, Totnes

Wera Hobhouse MP, Liberal Democrat, Bath

Vernon Coaker MP, Labour, Gedling

Grahame Morris MP, Labour, Easington

Gareth Thomas MP, Labour, Harrow West

Rt Hon George Howarth MP, Labour, Knowsley

Rt Hon Keith Vaz MP, Labour, Leicester East

Tracey Crouch MP, Conservative, Chatham and Aylesford

Rt Hon Andrew Mitchell MP, Conservative, Sutton Coldfield

Deidre Brock MP, Scottish National Party, Edinburgh North and Leith

Nic Dakin MP, Labour, Scunthorpe

Yvonne Fovargue MP, Labour, Makerfield